My Favorite Music

Hello, hopefully Human people from a Human just like you Human people!  This post is about music and what kinds of Human music I like because I, like many other Humans, appreciate music.

Here’s a list of my top five music groups (I tend to listen to groups more than solo acts)

  1. Pentatonix
  2. Loona
  3. Dreamcatcher
  4. Twice
  5. Marmello

Pentatonix is an a capella-pop group composed of 5 members: Kevin, Mitch, Scott, Kirstin, and Matt (one member, Avi, left in 2017 and was replaced by Matt.) They have been together since 2011 when I first got into them-they competed on a singing competition called The Sing-Off, which I watched in 1st grade. They won the show, which got them their first recording contract. They have since come out with 6 albums, excluding their Christmas albums. They are centered in the US, where all of them live and grew up, but Kevin speaks fluent Japanese and they have one medley of songs by a Japanese group called Perfume. They also went on The Sing-Off Japan as guests.

Favorite Pentatonix song: To the River (Pentatonix: Deluxe Edition, target special version only) (this is really hard to find online)

Favorite Pentatonix song with music video: Perfume Medley

Favorite Pentatonix Album: Pentatonix Volume II

LOONA Greets Fans For The First Time With All 12 Members ...

Loona (LOOΠΔ when stylized) is my second favorite group. They are a 12 member group, with 11 Korean members and 1 Chinese member. They had an 18-month pre-debut project (a project before they released anything as a full group for their official debut.) This project introduced each girl individually. All but one of the girls (the youngest) also participated in sub-units before Hi High, their debut song, was released. They have an incredibly diverse discography even with only one full-group album, covering many different musical styles-the way I see it, anyone can find at least one or two songs they like from Loona.

Favorite Loona song (one from each unit and a full group song because I can’t pick)

Loona 1/3 (has music video): Sonatine

Loona Odd Eye Circle: Chaotic

Odd Eye Circle w/ Music Video: Sweet Crazy Love

Loona yyxy: Rendezvous 18.6

yyxy w/ Music Video: love4eva

Loona (full group): Where You At

Loona (full group) w/ Music Video: Butterfly

Song w/ Music Video: Egoist

Favorite Loona album (there’s only like one and a half for each unit so I’ll only pick one): Beauty and the Beat (yyxy)

996 best Dreamcatcher kpop images on Pinterest | Kpop ...

Dreamcatcher is another Korean group, this one composed of 7 members. They have a rock-horror concept and fascinating choreography. 5 of them debuted as MINX with a cute concept before they re-debuted with two new members as Dreamcatcher. They have a sound that’s quite unique for k-pop, and I have heard many people say that their songs remind them of anime intros.

Favorite Dreamcatcher song: and there was no one left

Song w/ Music Video: PIRI

Favorite Dreamcatcher Album: The End of Nightmare

Twice~ Likey | Kpop-anime | Pinterest | Kpop, Blackpink ...

Twice is a 9-member Korean group. They have 5 Korean members, 3 Japanese members, and 1 Taiwanese member. They have met with great success in both Korea and Japan, where they have released music since their debut in 2015. They have a much cuter sound than the other groups on this list, which is something I don’t usually gravitate towards, but the way they pull it off somehow appeals to me.

Favorite Twice song: 거북이 (Turtle)

Song w/ music video: What is Love

Favorite Twice album: Twicetagram

MARMELLO - Profil, Biodata, dan Fakta Lengkap - Berita ...

Marmello is probably the least well-known group on this list. They are also Korean, and there are 4 members (there were 5 but one left). They play their own instruments, with one member for guitar, bass, drums, and vocals, and the member who left played keyboard. I find it very difficult to describe their sound, it’s kind of like pop, but with a little bit of jazz mixed in if that makes sense. They don’t have a very big following or very many songs, but they do have amazing music.

Favorite Marmello song (has music video): Wake Me Up

Favorite Marmello album: Wake Me Up

While we’re talking about artists, there are also a lot of solo artists I like. Here’s my top five (sort of this kind of changes a lot based on how I’m feeling).

  1. IUcute IU - Community - Google+
    1. Favorite Song: 가을 아침 (Autumn Morning)
    2. Favorite Album: A Flower Bookmark
  2. Sunmi
    1. Favorite Song: Siren
    2. Favorite Album: Warning
  3. Norah Jones
    1. Favorite Song: Sunrise
    2. Favorite Album: Feels Like Home
  4. Cavetownwg sunmi | Tumblr
    1. Favorite Song: Devil Town V2
    2. Favorite Album: Lemon Boy
  5. Chungha
    1. Favorite Song: Gotta Go
    2. Favorite Album: Offset

 

Honorable Mentions! These are groups and soloists I listen to and like, but who didn’t make my top five for either list. I’m only going to put my favorite one or two songs for each of these groups/soloists

WJSN: Save Me, Save You and Dreams Come True

Perfume: Chocolate Disco and Spending All My Time

Red Velvet: Butterflies and Sayonara

Blackpink: Playing With Fire

Gugudan: Not That Type and The Boots

CLC: Black Dress and No

(G)I-dle: Maze and (Hann (alone))

fromis_9: DKDK and 22 Century Girl

IZ*ONE: La Vie en Rose and 好きと言わせたい (Suki to Iwasetai)

Gfriend: Fingertip and Navillera

Oh My Girl: Closer and Secret Garden

EXID: I Love You and L.I.E

Bollbalgan4: 좋다고 말해 and 우주를 줄게 (Galaxy)

GWSN: Puzzle Moon and Pinky Star (Run)

Apink: I’m So Sick and %% (Eung Eung)

Cherry Bullet: Q&A

Minseo: Is Who and Zero

Favorite: Loca

3 Replies to “My Favorite Music”

  1. nadialowenwebb says: Reply

    You are a great writer Nora! I really enjoyed reading this post!

  2. This is very interesting, I like Pentatonix as well!

  3. This is good, I like a lot of these groups/people too.

Leave a Reply